Bulk operations

There are instances when multiple accounts that fit specific criteria need to have changes applied to them en masse. The section below describes how admins can leverage the bulk operations feature to make changes to multiple accounts simultaneously.

Enabling bulk operations in the webconsole menu

  1. From the top menu, select Access Control, and then choose Menus from the drop-down menu.

Access Control menu

  1. In the next screen, search for IDM under Resource Name, and then click the corresponding pencil icon in the right-hand column.

Search Menus

  1. You will then see the menu tree for IDM. Expand User Admin under Identity, and then right click on User Bulk Operations. Choose Edit.

Menu Tree IDM

  1. In the pop-up screen that follows, ensure that Is Visible is checked, and then click Save.

Is Visible

  1. From the Menu tree IDM screen, click Save this menu tree to enable User Bulk Operations in the User Administration menu. It may take several minutes for changes to take effect

Save Changes

Using bulk operations to apply changes to multiple user accounts

  1. From the top menu, select User Admin and then choose User Bulk Operations as shown below.

Bulk operations menu

  1. You will then see the first screen of the User Bulk Operations feature which allows you to search for users. A tutorial for searching for users is explained at length in the section Advanced Search.

For this example, we will search for users that have a User status of ACTIVE. Next, we will select the users Scott Nelson and Fred Flintstone, and then click Choose Operations in the bottom right-hand corner.

Select users

  1. The next screen will allow us to choose the operations we wish to perform on the selected users.

Bulk operations

Begin by choosing the object you wish to making changes to from the Choose Object drop-down menu. The object operations are described below.

  • User: Activate, Deactivate, Delete, Enable, Disable, Reset Password, Send Email Notification
  • Group: Add or delete groups
  • Role: Add or delete roles
  • Resource: Add or delete resources
  • Organization: Add or delete organizations

For this example, we will disable the accounts of the two selected users. We will choose User from the drop-down, and then choose Disable from the Choose Operation menu. Next, we will click Add operation.

Disable accounts

Click Start provisioning to apply the changes to the selected users.